Whakapapa - genealogy.

In its simplest sense, whakapapa is the recitation of family history or genealogy.  It is an integral part of how Maori view the wider world and their place within their whanau (family), hapu (subtribe) and iwi (tribe). 

Viewed in much broader terms it provides a frame of reference for people and events.  Maori identify themselves in relation to their chief, waka, river or sea, mountain, marae, hapu and iwi.  All beings, both human and non-human, share a whakapapa with each other.

This page lists a selection of resources relating to whakapapa.

Manukau resources
Auckland resources
Other useful resources

The South Auckland Research Centre contains the largest collection of whakapapa resources held in our libraries. Most material is available for use in the library only. Photocopying facilities are available.

Manukau resources

Both reference and lending copies of the following items are available in all our libraries. The number in brackets shows where the resource can be found on the shelf.

 

We also have most standard bibliographic guides, tribal histories, Māori newspapers and published newsletters of a number of Māori organisations.

In addition there is a strong collection of new and recently published books on Māori topics, subscriptions to all of the current Māori newspapers, and the published newsletters of a number of Māori organisations.

Access

Most of the material is available for reference between 9am and 5pm weekdays (Thursday to 8:30pmpm), am - 4pm on Sundays and 10am - 4pm on Sundays. Photocopying facilities are available.  

Help 

Please contact the Māori Services Librarian for further assistance if you require help to locate whakapapa or require a tour of the South Auckland Research Centre.

Phone: 09 262 5101 extension 8639
Email:
raewyn.paewai@manukau.govt.nz

back to top 

 

Auckland resources

Auckland Māori Land Court
135 Kolmar Road, Papatoetoe
Phone: 09 279 5850

Auckland Museum Library
Phone: 09 306 7070
Access: Reference usage only for non members of the museum library.

Auckland Central City Libraries (2nd floor)
Phone: 09 307 7771

National Archives
Phone: 09 270 1100
Note: Photocopying is done by archives staff

University of Auckland : Archive of Māori & Pacific Music
Anthropology Department
Human Sciences Building (level 8 - Room 817)
Phone: 09 373 7599 ext. 7553.
Tapes can be copied for a small cost.

University of Auckland : Library
Phone: 09 373 7599 ext. 82881
Access: Reference usage only for non-students of the University

Manurewa Family History Centre
2 Rowandale Road
Manurewa
Phone: 09 267 5479
Hours: Mon - Sat 10am-12pm
Wed 2 - 4pm
Tues, Wed, Thurs 7-9pm

Anglican Church Archives 
Phone: 09 528 3950
Appointment required. 

    Māori Land Court Minute Books are available at:

    • National Archives Library ( Auckland area only) 
    • Auckland Museum Library (Northland area only)
    • Auckland Māori Land Court (modern info.)
    • Manurewa Family History Centre
    • Manukau Libraries (all areas)
    • University of Auckland Central Library (all areas)
    • Waitakere Libraries (all areas).

back to top 

 

Other useful resources

  • Iwi help line 0800 16 00 88 - Te Ohu Kaimoana free phone line.

 Māori.com - Whakapapa.

back to top 

© Manukau City Council
newzealand.govt.nz - connecting you to New Zealand central & local government services